By-Laws Committee

Report of the By-Laws Committee

December 2014

Sabri Khayat

The Committee has not met since the last meeting of the Executive Council.

The committee would like to submit a recommendation to the Executive Council to amend the Regulation 3, following the resolution adopted at our Triennial Convention in July 2014.

Recommendation #1:


(1) There shall be fourteen (14) Standing Committees:

(a) Bargaining, By-Laws, Staffing, Technological Change, Health and Safety,   Equal Opportunities, Employee Assistance Program, Finance, Honours and Awards, Workforce Adjustment, Harassment, Communications, Political Action and Call Centres.

(b) Each Standing Committee with the exception of the Bargaining Committee, Staffing Committee and Workforce Adjustment Committee will have one (1) President’s Representative.  The Bargaining, Staffing, and WFA Committees will each have two (2) President’s Representatives; one from a TSO and one from a TC.  All Presidents’ Representatives shall be elected in accordance with By-Law 8 Section 1 (g).

(c)  For the purpose of voting for these positions, the following Locals are   considered to be Tax Centres:

Summerside 90006
St. John’s 90000
Surrey 20029
Jonquière 10004
Shawinigan-South 10005
Winnipeg 50031
Sudbury TC 00042
Ottawa Technology Centre 70030
Winnipeg Compensation Client Service Centre 50032
ITSO 70009

(d)  For the purpose of voting for the Call Centre position, the following Locals are considered to be Call Centres:

St. John’s TSO 90001
Saint John 60005
Montreal 10008
Toronto Centre 00013
Toronto North 00048
Hamilton 00014
Ottawa Technology Centre 70030
Calgary Call Centre 30022
Edmonton 30025
Pacific Region Call Centre 20050

2. There shall be Ad Hoc Committees as they are required.

Respectfully submitted,

Sabri Khayat
Chair of the Committee