Political Action Committee

Minutes of the Political Action Committee

October 20 - 21, 2016

In attendance:

Jamie vanSydenborgh, Chair
Cosimo Crupi, Co-Chair                                                                                                                                                 
Annette Melanson, Technical Advisor

Absent with regrets: Brad Feraday, Presidents’ Representative

  1. The Committee was advised that the Minster of National Revenue, Diane Lebouthillier, will meet with the UTE Executive Council on December 8, 2016. Discussion topics for this meeting were reviewed.
  2. The Committee updated its current list of Ministers, Parliamentary Secretaries, and Opposition critics;
  3. Themes for our current lobbying campaign were developed;
  4. A newsletter, outlining our current campaign themes, was developed and submitted to the Communications Committee for publication in the December newsletter;
  5. A Letter to the members and Speaking Notes for them to use while lobbying their MPs will be developed after the Executive Council meets with the Minister;
  6. The Committee met with Heather Finn, Political Advisor with the PSAC, at her request to review the current PASC campaigns on sick leave and Bill C-27.