Equal Opportunities Committee

Report of the Equal Opportunities (EO) Committee

September 2008

Shawn Bergeron Item 11(f)

Our Committee met in August and the minutes were already distributed.  We spent of lot of our time reviewing the Regional Action Plans.

An input call was sent out in August soliciting applications for a Women’s Representative and an Alternate to be on our Committee to fill the vacancy left by the election of Sister Robin Johnson as she became a Regional Vice-President.

The Co-chairs and the Presidents’ Representative met with the Technical Advisor on Monday September 29, 2008 to review the applications received and to make a recommendation for Council.
The Committee was overwhelmed with the quality of the applicants received and regrets that their selection is limited to one Representative and the Alternate.  We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of those who sent in an application.

The selection of the members is required to be made in consultation with Executive Council and as such the recommendation is as follows.

Recommendation 1:

Women’s Representative:  Gesine Fuchs NCR (Ottawa TSO)
Alternate: Marcelle Perron  Québec (Jonquière)

During recent discussions, the Committee recognized that having only one Alternate for each position may not be prudent.  There have been times in the past whereby the position of a Representative and/or the Alternate has remained vacant.  To this end we recommend the following:

Recommendation 2:

The Committee recommends that for future selections and nominations of the Equity Representatives that a second Alternate also be chosen.

Finally, I would like to thank my Committee for all the hard work and dedication that they have shown.  A new term has begun and I would especially like to thank Robin Johnson who has left the position of Women’s Representative to become the RVP for Toronto Region and a huge thank you to Brother Terry Dupuis who has served on the EO Committee as a Chairperson and a Co-chair for many years.

Respectfully submitted,

Shawn Bergeron
Chairperson of the Committee