Honours and Awards Committee

Report of the Honours and Awards Committee

September 2007

Terry Dupuis Item 11(g)

The committee met in June to review the Scholarship applications and plan for our next meeting. Once again we had an application from every Region and in all we received and reviewed 42 applications. Listed below are the successful applicants and all letters to these students and the unsuccessful applicants have been sent out.

$2500.00 National Awards:

*Aisha Omar –  Greater Toronto Region -  Diana Gee Award
Catherine Kenny – Atlantic Region – National Award (deferred to 2008)

$1000.00 Regional Awards:

Keegan Burt – Greater Toronto Region
Karly Campbell – Southern Ontario Region
Claudia Fradette – Quebec Region
*Heather Giles – National Capital Region
Renee Labrosse – Pacific Region
Jenna Leach – Prairie Region
Tanis Martin – North Eastern Ontario Region
Geneviève Plante – Montreal Region
Kristen Stoddart -  Rocky Mountains Region
*Stephanie Walters – Atlantic Region

We will be turning over all the information to the Communications Committee once we know that all the successful applicants have received their cheques and have registered for the upcoming year.

The Committee is planning to meet again in October.

The committee would like to express its sincerest appreciation to Sylvie Bastien for all of the hard work that she did, without her special efforts it would have made our job a lot tougher. Thank you Sylvie. I would also like to thank all of the committee members for their hard work as well.

* Awaiting secondary documents.

Respectfully submitted,

Terry Dupuis,
Chairperson of the Committee