Honours and Awards Committee

Report of the Honours and Awards Committee

September 2009

Terry Dupuis Item 11(g)

The committee met from July 6th to 10th 2009. The purpose of our meeting was to review Applications for the Scholarship Awards and choose successful applicants. I am happy to report that this year was the highest in applications.  In all we had 56 applicants, with at least one from every Region. Although this number was higher than in the past, it still is not where we want it to be. We also discussed other business and have a few recommendations to follow.

The Successful Applicants were as follows:

Jennifer Bryson- National Capital Region – National Award - $2500.00
Stephan Maloney – Atlantic – National Award - $2500.00

The following are the Regional Successful candidates and will each receive $1000.00.

Carla Drager – Rocky Mountains Region
Karen Holloway – Atlantic Region
Krista Ganchar – Prairie Region
Kristen Johnstone – Southwestern Ontario Region
Nida Mushtag – National Capital Region
Patrick Paskaris – Greater Toronto Region
Michael Price – Northern and Eastern Ontario Region
Devin Rosychuk – Pacific Region
Andrée Lacombe-Pruneau – Montréal Region
Marilyne Sabourin – Québec Region

All letters advising the successful and unsuccessful applicants were sent out the week of July 17th, 2009.

Recommendation #1 – That Cheryl Grieve of the Greater Toronto Region receive the Union of Taxation Community Service Award.

Recommendation #2 – Regulation change in 24.8  Scholarships – under requirements, 1st bullet – A minimum of 500 words to a maximum of 700 words, everything else stays the same. If accepted this will also require a change to the Honours and Awards Application instructions.

We also have taken out of the Applicants instructions the need for a photo, we have added it to the notes in the application instruction, that if you are a successful applicant we will require a photo at that time.

Our next meeting will be October 6th to 8th to review the applications for the ICA Student and Member to travel with Captain Smith and his group to Africa.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Denis Lalancette, Dianne Rayner and Robin Johnson for all their hard work. I would also like to thank Sylvie Bastien for all of her hard and efficient work on our committee.  We all celebrated at Baton Rouge, with Sylvie as our guest of Honour.

Respectfully submitted,

Terry Dupuis,
Chair of the Committee