Honours and Awards Committee

Report of the Honours and Awards Committee

September 2010

Terry Dupuis Item 11(g)

The Committee met from July 5 to 9th to review the applications for Scholarships for the 2010 season. We were very pleased to see an increase in the numbers for the second consecutive year, and the Committee would like to thank everyone for getting our message out to our members on this important issue.  Please see below the names of the successful applicants.

National Awards went to the following students:

Harrison Andrews- Nat. UTE Award - $2500.00 (Northern & Eastern Ontario Region)
Vicky Rodgers - Diana Gee Award - $2500.00 (Montreal Region)

Regional Awards went to the following students:

Kaitlin Cameron - Al Rollins Atlantic Region - $1000.00
Cassandra Aylward - National Capital Region - $1000.00
Jamie Chalmers - Prairie Region - $1000.00
Becky Dochstader - Pacific Region - $1000.00
Jean-Sébastien Maltais - Quebec Region - $1000.00
Natalie Petra - Greater Toronto Region - $1000.00
Christina Rousseau - Northern and Eastern Ontario Region - $1000.00
Caroline Séguin - Montreal Region - $1000.00
Samantha Stupak - Rocky Mountains Region - $1000.00
Bridget Woudstra - South Western Ontario Region $1000.00

We would like to thank all the applicants for applying, and urge them to do so in the future.

We have discussed making some changes to the criteria and essay topics.

Delete the topic for essay’s, “What effect globalization is having on workers’ rights and Human rights in Canada”.
The topic chosen by the Committee for 2011 is :

“What affected you most in 2010 (news, personal, social).”

I would like to take this time to thank all the members of the Committee, Denis Lalancette, Robin Johnson and Dianne Rayner for all their hard work on this committee. I would especially like to thank Sylvie Bastien from the National Office for her hard and great work she does to assist the Committee, Thank You Sylvie J!

Respectfully submitted,

Terry Dupuis,
Chair of the Committee