Bulletin 04/10

March 5, 2010
To:    Executive Council
Alternate Regional Vice-Presidents
Local Presidents
Labour Relations Officers


Attached is the PSAC’s Program of Demands as well as the UTE bargaining demand form, also available on our Website. Please read these documents thoroughly.

The deadline for submitting demands to the UTE National Office is March 31, 2010, at 5:00 p.m. 

This bulletin constitutes official notice to Locals for submitting other bargaining demands.  As such, the ongoing process will be suspended as of March 12, 2010, at 5:00 p.m.

We suggest that you seek input from all your members by getting the bargaining demand process under way. You can distribute this bulletin, hold meetings, form a Local bargaining committee or use other ways of collecting and organizing your Local’s bargaining demands.
Some important points are:

  • The Program should be used as a base. Do not hesitate to put forward specific bargaining demands on topics found in the Program of Demands, if necessary.
  • Use the UTE bargaining demand form.
  • Enter only one demand or proposal per form. Prepare the demand using the electronic form or legible hard copy.
  • Remember to provide the rationale for each demand or describe the problem.

Each Local should limit the number of bargaining demands to ten (10), if they send more than ten (10) bargaining demands, only the first ten (10) will be kept.  This does not include those received during the ongoing process that ends March 12, 2010, at 5:00 p.m.

Once all demands are received at the National Office, the PSAC and UTE will compile them. The National Bargaining Committee then plans to meet in May 2010, to discuss, select and prioritize the demands. These will become the official demands that are submitted to the Canada Revenue Agency with the notice to bargain on July 1st, 2010. As per Regulation 10 of the UTE By-Laws, the members of the bargaining team will be selected at that meeting.

Bargaining is everyone’s business.  Stay informed, stay involved.

Respectfully submitted,

Denis Lalancette
2nd National Vice-President