Bulletin 04/06

November 8, 2006


Executive Council
Alternate Regional Vice-Presidents
Local Presidents
Labour Relations Officers
For distribution or posting for members


RESOLUTION 234: Be it resolved that bargaining demands be received and reviewed by the UTE National Bargaining Committee at any time on a continual basis.

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

The above-mentioned resolution was adopted at the 2005 UTE convention.  The Standing Bargaining Committee subsequently developed a procedure to put this new continual bargaining demand collection process into operation.

Any UTE member in good standing may use the following procedure to submit bargaining demands:

  1. Demands must be prepared using the UTE’s official form by clicking on bargaining demands (available on the UTE site at www.ute-sei.org).

  2. Demands must be approved by a member of your local Executive. Please refer to the directory to help you identify your local.

  3. Demands must be legible and their intent must be clear.  However, if the demands are ambiguous they will be returned to the local.

  4. The local is responsible to forward the demands to the National Office as soon as they are approved.

  5. The bargaining demand form may be sent to the UTE National Office by fax to 613-234-7290, by mail to 233 Gilmour Street, Suite 800, Ottawa, ON  K2P OP2 or by email to labriep@ute-sei.org.  If you chose the email option, we recommend that you save and send the form as an attachment. An acknowledgement of the demands will be sent to the local by email.

  6. A copy of the demands will be sent to the Chair of the Standing Bargaining Committee.

NOTE: This new process is connected with the official bargaining demand collection process that takes place at each round of bargaining.  Therefore, the Standing Bargaining Committee will notify you of the cut-off date of the continual demand collection process.

Attached is a sample of the official bargaining demand form and a bargaining demand.

Respectfully submitted

Denis Lalancette
2nd National Vice-President