2017 Convention Schedule


To:      Executive Council
            Alternate Regional Vice-Presidents
            Local Presidents
            UTE Staff

Re:     2017 Convention Schedule

Recently the National Office staff and I have been receiving telephone calls regarding details of the upcoming 2017 Convention to be held in Ottawa, Ontario from Wednesday, July 19th to Saturday July 22nd.  Thus, this bulletin has been prepared to help answer some of the questions.  The following is a summary of some of the important dates of events leading up to and during the Convention.

Friday, February 28:           Deadline for Convention Committee delegate names

Saturday, March 11:           Deadline for resolutions

Saturday, March 11:           Deadline for names of Convention delegates and observers

Friday to Sunday
April 28 – April 30:              Convention Committees at the Chateau Laurier, Ottawa         

Tuesday, July 18:               Council meeting in the AM
                                           Delegates and observers are scheduled to arrive
                                           Registration from 10:00 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.
                                           National President’s Reception

Wednesday, July 19:          Convention opens with Plenary Session
                                           Fun Night organized by the Host Committee

Thursday, July 20:              Plenary Session
                                           Banquet and Dance in the evening

Friday, July 21:                   Plenary Session

Saturday, July 22:               Plenary Session in the morning
                                           Elections and close of Convention in the afternoon

Sunday, July 23:                 All participants are scheduled to go home

It is expected that the travel advances will be sent to the locals around the end of May the beginning of June.

Watch for further “Convention Comments” in bulletin format in the future.

In Solidarity,

Robert Campbell's signature
Bob Campbell
National President