Honours and Awards Committee

Honorary Member, Shane O'Brien

Denis Lalancette, Jean-Pierre Fraser, Bob Campbell, Shane O'Brien, Robyn Johnson

Brother O’Brien was awarded Honorary Membership at the UTE Triennial Convention in Windsor, July 18, 2014.
In the photo: Denis Lalancette, Jean-Pierre Fraser, Bob Campbell, Shane O'Brien, Robyn Johnson

Brother Shane O’Brien commenced employment with the Department of Revenue Canada, Taxation (the predecessor organization to the Canada Revenue Agency) in the St. John’s District Office (now TSO) and subsequently transferred to the St. John’s Taxation Centre when it first opened in 1980. Within months of accepting his first position with Revenue Canada, Shane was recruited to be a steward and later became Chief Steward and subsequently, Vice-President of the Local. While employed at the Taxation Centre, Shane became the Local’s Chief Steward and later became President from 1981 to 1984, until such time as he was elected in July 1984 to the position of Atlantic Regional Director (now Regional Vice-President). He was subsequently re-elected to this position (Atlantic RVP) in July 1987 and occupied that position until he accepted a full-time Staff Officer position with Customs Excise Union Douanes Accise (CEUDA) later that year. Shane also served as PSAC Alternate National Director (Atlantic Region) from June 1985 until 1987 when he accepted the staff position with CEUDA.

Brother O’Brien returned to the Union of Taxation Employees on January 1, 1989 as a Service Officer (now Labour Relations Officer) and subsequently served as Executive Assistant to the National President and Senior Labour Relations Officer from 2005 to 2011. Shane continues to occupy the position of Senior Labour Relations Officer and was awarded Honorary Membership at the 2014 Union of Taxation Employees Triennial Convention.